Event Ended

Oct 28 2015

Belgrade Philharmonic String Quartet: Beethoven-Brahms

The season welcomes one of many best East European Chamber Music Ensembles: the Belgrade String Quartet. Based in 2011 by musicians of the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra, the Quartet has been performing since then all through Serbia and Europe particularly as a part of humanitarian initiatives. As in earlier programmes, the 2015-2016 season’s schedule locations as a lot focus as potential on Chamber Music, thus encouraging the invention of Classical Music in a extra intimate setting; recreating and modernising the European Salon Tradition and underlining the instant entry to music it brings.

As a part of this, the Belgrade String Quartet will likely be performing Beethoven’s emotional String Quartet No.10, written in 1809 below the impression of the Napoleonic wars that had reached Vienna in that yr and that the composer perceived as a really existential menace to his artwork. With each gloomy and unbelievable parts, the quartet additionally shows its visionary power by saying the human and social adjustments the brand new European order goes to deliver with it. Written at a a lot later interval, in 1891, Johannes Brahms Clarinet Quintet in B minor, that might be carried out within the second a part of the live performance, however follows an analogous vein as Beethoven’s work, displaying a melancholic temper and counting on erratic and unsteady musical grammar, meandering by completely different themes: a music of transition, carrying all of the complexity and multiplicity chamber music can carry.


Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 10, Op. 74 (Harfen Quartet)
Johannes Brahms: Clarinet Quintet Op. 115, in B minor 



Oct 28 2015




Manarat Al Saadiyat




08:00 PM

Contact For More Details
Add to Calendar 10/28/2015 08:00 PM 10/28/2015 10:00 PM Europe/Paris Belgrade Philharmonic String Quartet: Beethoven-Brahms Manarat Al Saadiyat false MM/DD/YYYY

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *